Is it too late to compete?

This question just came to my mind the moment I heard about the first beta release of an Arabic programming language called “kalimat” (words, Arabic: كلمات).

Is it to late too compete with .Net or Java (or possibly other frameworks/IDEs)? & if not, isn’t it a little bit late for Arabic?!

On the one hand, an Arabic programming language would be somewhat useful, specially if they decided to teach Egyptian students the basics of programming in public schools (teaching kids programming basics is the main purpose of this language, as announced). It also might find some good environment to grow in  Arabic speaking countries, from a business point of view.

But on the other hand, It’s unlikely to happen that Arabic programming languages (in general) would go further; i.e., to be embraced by non-Arabic speaking developers. It’s simple: we know English, they don’t know Arabic. In addition to being convenient to what they have & the continual rapid upgrade of existing frameworks/IDEs.

Personally, I don’t prefer Arabic & I don’t see it coming that I’ll develop in Arabic one day. I’m might try it though.

Let’s keep that aside anyway, I’ll keep being neutral.. It’s good to be neutral, you just wait & see!

One thought on “Is it too late to compete?

  1. What matters is not the language but the Latin alphabet. I’ve seen some European programmers who do not speak English but use C# and .NET pretty well. So I wouldn’t call a programming language as Arabic or English rather that its syntax has got alphabet of which “class” of languages.
    Another *personal* question, why don’t you like Arabic?

Leave a comment